Skip to content

Student Ambassador Program

Congratulations to the 2019-2020 program winners!
Overall Program Winner: Alexis John from Our Lady of Mount Carmel
Second Prize: Ashley Phan and Angelina Nguyen from Rick Hansen Secondary School
Third Prize: Aryanna D’Aiddo and Momtahena Haque from Erindale Secondary School

Thank you to everyone who applied to be part of the 2020-21 program! We will be contacting participants in May before the program begins in summer 2020.

If you’re a high school student who wants to be involved in your school community and earn your volunteer hours, you can apply to become a MiWay Student Ambassador.

You’ll help to promote the benefits of public transit to your peers. It’s also a great way to learn about event planning, public speaking, digital communication and leadership.

Check the leaderboard to see the number of points your school has earned so far this year.

See where your school is currently ranked.

Last updated: May 27, 2020

Rank School Points
1 St. Joan of Arc Catholic Secondary School 89.0
1 St. Joseph Secondary School 89.0
1 John Cabot Secondary School 89.0
1 Our Lady of Mount Carmel Secondary School 89.0
1 Erindale Secondary School 89.0
1 Rick Hansen Secondary School 89.0
2 Port Credit Secondary School 84.0
2 Mississauga Secondary School 84.0
3 Loyola Catholic Secondary School 77.5
4 West Credit Secondary School 65.0
5 St. Martin Secondary School 60.0
6 The Woodlands Secondary School 55.5
7 St. Paul Secondary School 52.0
8 T.L Kennedy Secondary School 51.0
9 John Fraser Secondary School 50.0
10 Meadowvale Secondary School 44.5
11 Iona Secondary School 44.0
12 Glenforest Secondary School 43.0
13 Philip Pocock Catholic Secondary School 37.0
14 Stephen Lewis Secondary School 33.0
15 Applewood Heights Secondary School 28.0
16 St. Francis Xavier Secondary School 24.5
17 Lorne Park Secondary School 24.0
18 St. Aloysius Gonzaga Catholic Secondary School 22.0
19 St. Marcellinus Secondary School 21.0
20 Streetsville Secondary School 18.0
20 Father Michael Goetz Secondary School 18.0
21 Clarkson Secondary School 16.5
22 Cawthra Park Secondary School 15.0


Who can apply

You must be a registered student at a school in the Peel District School Board or Dufferin-Peel Catholic District School Board. You can apply as an individual or as a team of two. Only one individual or team will be chosen from each school.

Applications are now closed for the 2020 to 2021 school year.

What an ambassador does

As an Ambassador, your role is to promote MiWay and help educate your peers about the benefits of public transit.

You’ll do different activities throughout the school year, like:

  • Attend the kick off meeting and network with Ambassadors from other schools
  • Create and share social media content
  • Produce videos and radio-style advertisements
  • Host a MiWay information table or other special events at your school

Prizes and perks

You’ll earn points for each activity you complete throughout the year. The Ambassadors who earn the most points will earn prizes like gift cards, a smart watch, or free transit for an entire year.

Read the full program rules and regulations here.

Ambassadors representing the top three schools will also be recognized at a Mississauga City Council meeting. All participating schools will receive pre-loaded PRESTO cards for students.

Contact us

If you have any questions about your application or throughout the program email us at

Past winners

The winning ambassadors from previous years were:

  • Kaamil Quidwai from Meadowvale Secondary School – 2018 to 2019
  • Cliantha Fernandes and Alwin George from St. Marcellinus Secondary School – 2017 to 2018
  • Shambhavi Sole and Sandy Liang from Rick Hansen Secondary School – 2016 to 2017
  • Menatalla Ibrahim from Father Michael Goetz Secondary School – 2015 to 2016
  • Jane Jomy and Uswa Zahoor from Glenforest Secondary School – 2014 to 2015
  • Nareshi Babu and Nikhita Kapoor from Stephen Lewis Secondary School – 2013 to 2014
  • Scott Hladun and Devika Matkar from Stephen Lewis Secondary School – 2012 to 2013
  • Syed Kamran and Umar Bhutta from Gordon Graydon Secondary School – 2011 to 2012
  • Miranda Pinto from Erindale Secondary School and Samriti Chand and Dhyani Patel from Port Credit Secondary School – 2010 to 2011
Give website feedback